Roseola – Running Fever with no other symptoms

I woke Joanna up one morning and found that she has a slight fever, I showered her to reduce the body tempreture and gave her warm milk. I though she caught the flu I got few days back. then the fever rose to 37.7c so I gave her fever reliever, and took doctor appointment for next day (couldn’t find any sooner and she didn’t have any other symptoms that got me worried, no sneezing, no coughing and no soar throat, she just lost her appetite a bit). Then, again at night she got the fever back, and I consulted doctor by phone and he advised me just to give her the fever reliever and observe if there is any symptoms till next day. I was watching her all night, couldn’t sleep at all.

In the morning, I noticed small pink spots in her face, rash, and checked her tummy and back and found the same small spots, I freaked out, I thought its chicken pox. I rushed to her doctor, and when we reached and he is done examining her, he told me it is not a chicken pox (that was a relief), it is Roseola! :O what? what is Roseola? I never herd of this before.

He told me it starts with a sudden, relatively high fever, often over 103 degrees Fahrenheit. The fever typically lasts three to five days and may end abruptly, followed by the telltale rash. The rash may last for days or only hours. It is a viral illness and most commonly affects those between 6 months and 2 years old children.

Aha!

Is it contagious?

(it is contagious! from about two days before the fever starts until 1 or 2 days after the fever is gone, even if the rash continues).

How do we treat it?

He did not prescribe any medication specifically for treating Roseola, just a cream to help her if she itches and a syrup for allergies to help with the rash.

I thought to share this with mothers like me who freak out from the tiniest symptom.

This is how Joanna’s body looks like with Roseola:

FullSizeRender

One thought on “Roseola – Running Fever with no other symptoms

  1. I’m so sorry, my stepson had it a couple of springs ago. He was 4. There is really nothing we as mom’s can do for it then to make them comfortable and wait it out, which I think just makes it worse for us. He was so funny about it, I would say you need to keep a distance from your sister for the next couple of days, he agreed, “I don’t want her to catch my polka-dots.” I swear he picked it up at a McDonald’s play place, I meditated allot on it and he hadn’t really gotten out much the week before that, and when we did that place was swarming with kiddos.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment